Looking Ahead to the Honda Indy 200

The end of July means only one thing to racing fans in the state of Ohio.  It means that it's time for the Honda Indy 200 at the Mid Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington as the Verizon IndyCar Series begins to enter the homestretch of the 2017 season.  For the second time in three years the Buckeye state fans will see one of their own, Graham Rahal, enter the race in the championship discussion.  Two years ago, Ohio State football legend Joey Galloway gave the command to fire engines for the race and Graham took the win in one of the most popular victories in IndyCar competition in many years.  This year, the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner in history, Archie Griffin will be the Grand Marshal and Rahal looks to take his third win of 2017.

Scott Dixon, Helio Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud, Josef Newgarden, Will Power and Graham Rahal go into the race separated by just 64 points with five races left in the season.  In addition to the Honda Indy 200, there will be multiple races from all three rungs of the Mazda Road to Indy ladder system along with sports car action from the Pirelli World Challenge.

We'll have our usual coverage of the IndyCar action on Sunday with a special edition of The Pace Lap from the track at 2 with flag to flag coverage of the race from the Advance Auto Parts IndyCar Radio Network to follow at 3 on 1150 WIMA, 1150wima.com and around the world with the I Heart Radio app!