Lima, Ohio (WIMA) - The Lima School Board honored their Outstanding 11 teachers during Thursday night’s school board meeting.

One teacher from each school building in the district receives the honor each year- and they are nominated by their peers.

The district began the awards in 2011 after a visit from nationally-known educator Ron Clark- author of The Excellent 11.

This year’s winners included:

Jane Backus- Unity Elementary

Cathy Boedicker- West Middle School

Joseph Dorsey- Freedom Elementary

Kathy Hennessy- Lima Alternative School

Denise Kruse- North Middle School

James Looser- Independence Elementary

Connie Lott- South Science Technology Magnet

Suzanne Lyons- Liberty Arts Magnet

Lori Rose- Lima Senior High

Tracy Wehner- Heritage Elementary